Skip to content

The Notebook :).. Nicholas Spark

March 21, 2012

The Notebook is officially TOPS THE LIST of “MY FAVORITE NOVELS” ever 🙂 It would be the same for many of you I guess. The Notebook is an achingly tender story about the enduring power of love, a story of miracles that will stay with you forever. It’s the book which i read when i am hurt, a book which i read when i want to feel love, a book which depicts love, care, forgiveness and sacrifice, twisted in a beautiful plot.

It holds a very big place in my heart.. It’s special. It taught me what love is, how loss can be and how to know when you have actually found the “ONE”. It is based on a true story and it was NICHOLAS SPARK’s first novel, which remained on the top of best selling list for more than a year !!!

THE NOTEBOOK : The story is based on two center characters Noah Calhoun and Allie Nelson.

Set amid the austere beauty of coastal North Carolina in 1946, The Notebook begins with the story of Noah Calhoun, a rural Southerner returned home from World War II. Noah, thirty-one, is restoring a plantation home to its former glory, and he is haunted by images of the beautiful girl he met fourteen years earlier, a girl he loved like no other. Unable to find her, yet unwilling to forget the summer they spent together, Noah is content to live with only memories. . until she unexpectedly returns to his town to see him once again. Allie Nelson, twenty-nine, is now engaged to another man, but realizes that the original passion she felt for Noah has not dimmed with the passage of time. Still, the obstacles that once ended their previous relationship remain, and the gulf between their worlds is too vast to ignore. With her impending marriage only weeks away, Allie is forced to confront her hopes and dreams for the future, a future that only she can shape. Like a puzzle within a puzzle, the story of Noah and Allie is just beginning. As it unfolds, their tale miraculously becomes something different, with much higher stakes. The result is a deeply moving portrait of love itself, the tender moments, and fundamental changes that affect us all. Shining with a beauty that is rarely found in current literature, The Notebook establishes Nicholas Sparks as a classic storyteller with a unique insight into the only emotion that really matters.

This is the plot of the story in brief. I would really like you to read the NOVEL if you haven’t done so still… HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

What did I love about THE NOTEBOOK ???

How many of us can claim we have HUSBANDS or BOYFRIENDS who will look after us the way NOAH looks after ALLIE when she suffers from ALZHEIMER’s disease ??? Which one of can claim “OUR SPECIAL SOMEONE” will make us fall in love with him all over again and bring us back from Alzheimer’s ??? The Notebook increased my standards. It made me realize what LOVE actually is !!! Until and unless you are not sure that you can go up to such an extent as NOAH went for ALLIE.. I don’t think you actually love the person or vice a versa !! Love knows no AGE LIMIT !!! When Noah met Allie for the first time they were just 17 year olds. In the brief period they shared together they came to know “THAT THEY WERE MADE FOR EACH OTHER” !!!!  Even after 14 years of separation their feelings for each other did not waver. That is what LOVE is made up of !!! In today’s so called GENERATION, i feel youngsters don’t know anyone to preach them how “BEAUTIFUL” it is, to be in love. For them TODAY, it’s all about sex and showing off in front of your friends !!! I feel “THE NOTEBOOK”, will give them something to think about. To anyone who reads this post.. GIVE TRUE LOVE A CHANCE !!! That is what i loved from “THE NOTEBOOK” 🙂 Share your views .. The movie based on this book is also “OUT OF THE WORLD” !!!

P.S. This is the letter Allie wrote to Noah when she realized she is suffering from Alzheimer’s.. It’s amazing .. just go through it <3.. I haven’t read a more beautiful letter then this:)

Dear Noah,

I write this letter by candlelight as you lie sleeping in the bedroom we have shared since the day we were married. I see the flame beside me and it reminds me of another fire from decades ago, with me in your soft clothes, and I knew then we would always be together, even though I wavered the following day. My heart had been captured by a southern poet, and I knew inside that it had always been yours. Who was I to question a love that rode on shooting stars and roared like crashing waves? For that is what it was between us then and that is what it is today. I remember coming back to you the day after my mother left. I was so scared because I was sure you would never forgive me for leaving you. I was shaking as I got out of the car, but you took it all away with your smile. “How about some coffee?” was all you said. And you never brought it up again in all our years together. Nor did you question me when I would leave and walk alone during the next few days. When I came in with tears in my eyes, you always knew whether I needed you to hold me or to just let me be. I don’t know how but you did, and you made it easier for me. Later, when we went to the small chapel and exchanged our rings and made our vows, I looked into your eyes and knew I had made the right decision. More than that, I knew I was foolish for ever considering someone else. I have never wavered since. We had a wonderful life together, and I think about it a lot now. I close my eyes sometimes and see you with speckles of grey in your hair, sitting on the porch and playing your guitar while little ones play and clap to the music you create. “You’re a better father than you know, ” I tell you later, after the children are sleeping. I love you for many things, especially your passions: love and poetry and fatherhood and friendship and beauty and nature. And I am glad you have taught the children these things, for I know their lives are better for it. They tell me how special you are to them, and it makes me feel like the luckiest woman alive. You have taught me as well, and inspired me and supported me in my painting, and you will never know how much it has meant to me that you were always there,encouraging me. You understood my need for my own studio, my own space, and saw beyond the paint on my clothes and in my hair. I know it was not easy. It takes a man to do that, Noah, to live with something like that. And you have. For forty-five years now. Wonderful years. You are my best friend as well as my lover, and I do not know which side of you I enjoy the most. I treasure each side, just as I have treasured our life together. You have something inside you, Noah, something beautiful and strong. Kindness, that’s what I see when I look at you now, that’s what everyone sees. Kindness. I know you think me crazy for making us write our story before we finally leave our home, but I have my reasons and I thank you for your patience. I never told you why, but now I think it is time you knew. We have lived a lifetime most couples never know, and when I look at you I am frightened by the knowledge that all this will be ending soon. For we both know my prognosis. I worry more about you than I do about me, because I fear the pain I know you will go through. There are no words to express my sorrow for this. I love you so deeply, so incredibly much, that I will find a way to come back to you despite my disease, I promise you that. And this is where the story comes in. When I am lost and lonely, read this storyjust as you told it to the childrenand know that in some way I will realize it’s about us. And perhaps, just perhaps, we will find a way to be together again. Please don’t be angry with me on days I do not remember you we both know they will come. Know that I will always love you, and no matter what happens, know that I have led the greatest life possible. My life with you. Noah, wherever you are and whenever you read this, I love you. I love you deeply, my husband. You are, and always have been, my dream.

Allie

 

From → Nicholas Spark

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

